About Us


John C. Bierley, Chairman

Email:  [email protected]

Mobile:  813-245-7694


Richard A. Jacobson, Committee Director

Email: [email protected]

Office Phone: (813) 222-1159

Mobile: (813) 300-1582

Chris Heath, Administrative Coordinator

Email: [email protected]

Phone: (813) 210-2615

Robin Todd, Assistant Administrative Coordinator

Email: [email protected]

Office Phone: (813) 221-7260


List of Speakers

View the list of speakers who have previously spoken at the Tampa Bay Area Committee on Foreign Relations.

ACFR - National Organization

The American Committees on Foreign Relations (ACFR) is a non-partisan, non-profit organization with headquarters in Washington, D.C. since 1938 that connects government agencies, officials, distinguished foreign service members, leading think tanks, consultancies, businesses, and associations with our unique network of Member Committees across the country.

ACFR Annual Conference

The American Committees on Foreign Relations conducts an annual conference in Washington, DC. The annual conference draws eminent policymakers and other experts for a day and a half of presentations and substantive discussions with committee members and their guests. The conference also includes an exclusive embassy reception on the first night.


Committee History

The Tampa Bay Area Committee on Foreign Relations was founded in 1973 by Mark T. Orr, Ph. D., Director of International Studies and Programs at the University of South Florida.

Mark Orr Foreign Affairs Fellows

Students from local colleges and universities are selected for membership by the institutions themselves. This program, including the Terrell Sessums Young Leaders Initiative in Washington, DC, is funded my member donations.

Host Committee

The Tampa Bay Area Committee on Foreign Relations established the Host Committee in 2007 in an effort to further engage a younger community of members and to ensure the smooth integration of new members into the membership at large.